How to Save the World without Washing Diapers

I decided pretty early on that I wanted to do cotton diapering when I found out that diapers last at least 500 years in landfills (see my previous post), so I visited a cotton diapering store in St Louis while we were there to see how it was done. I took my mother in law. I walked out completely confused and she walked out thinking I was a looney tune. There were so many different versions of cotton diapers and all of them entailed wet pails and soaking of poopy diapers. I love the earth and all, but my gag reflex is stronger than superman (or weaker? Point is, I gag at poo.)

I did some research and found gdiapers. These are cotton diapers that do not entail washing of poo filled diapers (I’m sure there are some accidents and some leaks just like with disposables). Basically, they are these cute little diapers that you put a disposable insert into; when poo happens you can throw away the insert or… get this… FLUSH it!! They are biodegradable (you could even use them in compost if you were crazy like that!), they break down in just a matter of weeks and actually provide nutrients to the earth that help rather than hinder the world! Even the outer layer that you don’t toss is biodegradable. Here is a video from the nice folks at gdiapers showing exactly how their products break down. I can’t vouch for their use (I’m gonna feel like an idiot if they turn out to be terrible after all of these blogs!) quite yet, although they did fit the teddy bear very well when we tested, but the cat wouldn’t sit still long enough. I plan on giving cotton diapering a try and so did these celebs.

If you have any questions about gdiapers or cotton diapers in general, shoot me a message and I’ll do my best to find the answer for you.

Upcoming posts on this subject will include:
How to use gdiapers.
Cost analysis of gdiapers vs. disposables.
How to get ’em cheaper.

Leave a Reply

