First Ultrasound

Husband and I went for the first ultrasound yesterday. They stick a wand inside you (same wand they checked my insides for fertility treatments) and you see your insides. First you see a black empty space that is the sack for the baby. Then, the doctor says hmmm, I don’t see anything in there and you’re stomach drops until finally she finds it and you’re not sure whether to punch her or hug her. The baby is about the size of a grain of rice and looks to be all heart (which can’t possibly be a bad thing!) It was pretty emotional for me. My husband on the other hand said, That’s it?
So she measured it and told us that we’re probably more like 6 weeks now (which knocks off a few days or so). Husband thinks we should start counting on Tuesdays instead of Thursdays, but that would just confuse things, so we’re sticking with Thursdays! Decision made!
My folks were all waiting with baited breath to hear results which was nice, as I kind of feel like I’m behind the curve and the excitement is not there for this grandchild. Turns out they wanted to know whether it was more than one. When I said it was one, the conversation was pretty much done; other than receiving advice on not putting on weight this early! It starts!

Leave a Reply

